What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hello,

I am currently working on a texture for a turtle that will be used on a model in 3ds Max. I am a moderate to expert level user of Photoshop, in my own opinion, but still have much to learn.

My question today is this. Is there a way to create an image and then use the brush to recreate it randomly over and over again on a canvas? This question is in regards to the scales I am making for the turtle texture. The brush has a whole slew of tools for changing the size, orientation, and scattering of the brush so I was wondering if it is possible to use my scale image with it somehow?

I have attempted to use the pattern stamp tool but it spaces them so far apart and there is no control like you get with the brush tool. For now I will manually place them, but I am still curious if what I want to do is possible and would appreciate any help.

I am using Photoshop CS3.

Regards,

Frank

Hey $1r_M4x1mu$, thanks for the response. However that answer will not work. The reason being is I want to duplicate the small image as is with its color and all the same. The only thing I want to be different is rotation and scale. Unfortunately to create a custom brush you have to use a B&W image for best quality, I have done this before.

So I am seeking a method to duplicate a small image, such as a scale, randomly throughout an image.

I don't think PS brushes can do what you ask for. But pattern fill might.... Tho I've never tried it on a turtle scale..... lol.... so I don't know whether the outcome will be to your liking. And you may have to create it like a tiled image.....